

ADVANCING THE CARE OF PATIENTS WITH KNEE DISORDERS THROUGH LEADERSHIP IN EDUCATION AND RESEARCH

The Knee Society's

Lifetime Hchievement Hward

Be it resolved that the Executive Board of The Knee Society desires to recognize the accomplishments of the distinguished persons who have created a legacy of contributions to study arthritic diseases of the knee. This honor is named the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Criteria for the Award

- 1. Nominations will be solicited once every two (2) years. The frequency of solicitation may be changed at the discretion of the Executive Board, and at the recommendation of the Selection Committee.
- 2. Recipient need not be a member of The Knee Society.
- 3. The Award may be awarded posthumously.
- 4. Contributions are durable in print, either in books or in peer-reviewed articles.
- 5. Contributions are pioneering and/or creative, with legacy value.
- 6. Nominations will be received only from members of The Knee Society, with one member as the primary nominator and two members as seconders. **Nominations are due by July 1st of the year that the call for nominations is sent out**.
- 7. The Lifetime Award Selection Committee will be comprised of five (5) members, including President of The Knee Society President, the immediate Past President, and the three Vice-Presidents.
- 8. The nominee, as selected by the Lifetime Award Selection Committee, will be presented to the Executive Board of The Knee Society at the Members' Meeting, and approved by a simple majority vote.
- 9. Upon approval of a nominee by the Executive Board of The Knee Society, the Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented to the recipient or his/her delegate at the following Open (Specialty Day) Meeting of The Knee Society.
- 10. Recipients, or their delegates, who are non-members of The Knee Society, will receive an honorary membership to The Knee Society as part of their Award.

The Knee Society's

Lifetime Achievement Award Recipients

2010

David S. Hungerford, MD Kenneth A. Krackow, MD

2011

Chitranjan S. Ranawat, MD

2012

John N. Insall, MD ₽

2015

Richard D. Scott, MD

2018

Peter S. Walker, PhD Richard S. Laskin, MD ⊕

2020

Albert H. Burstein, PhD Leo A. Whiteside, MD

2022

Lawrence D. Dorr, MD ₽